Tapestry LibLab participants announced

Tapestry’s LibLab is a collaborative that brings together composers and librettists to create new work.  It provides participants with the opportunity to work with several partners in a short period of time. Throughout the week-long program, writers and composers are partnered with one another for one day each. With input from music and stage directors, each pair writes a short piece of music theatre and investigates the collaborative process. Their work is performed at the end of each day by a resident ensemble of singers and repetiteurs, and then constructively critiqued by the group.  The best of the works are polished up for a show later in the year (review of last year’s show) and some go on for further development.

This year’s writers will be Morris Panych, Nicolas Billon, David Yee and Donna-Michelle St. Bernard.  They will be joined by composers: Nicole Lizee, Dean Burry, Christopher Thornborrow, and Ivan Barbotin.

The performers will be Mezzo-Soprano Krisztina Szabo, Baritone Alex Dobson, Tenor Keith Klassen and Soprano Cat Affleck together with music directors Christopher Foley and Jennifer Tung.


1 thought on “Tapestry LibLab participants announced

  1. Pingback: LibLab reading | operaramblings

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s